It’s been almost a full year since i received this diamond, almost 6 months since the band was added to it.  I still look down at it more than a few times a day and smile, wondering at it.

I love it.  I love this ring, I love what it symbolizes, and I love the man who placed it there.


People keep asking, how’s married life, and honestly,  I find that difficult to answer.  I mean, it’s great.  I get to wake up every morning beside the man I love so deeply.

But do you know what else it is?  It’s hard.  Being married is hard.  I think anyone will tell you that, whether they’re newlyweds or they’ve been married for 50 years.  Being married, having that relationship is work, and sometimes that work is hard.

But isn’t that every relationship?  They’re all work, some more than others.  And it seems that the most important relationships are the most work come with the most challenges.

I think of the relationship I have with my kids – now let’s be real for a minute.  That relationship is some serious work – anyone who has spent any amount of time with a busy toddler or struggling teenager can tell you that.  And then, each one is so different!  But my relationships with my kids are so special and so important to me.

Relationships with friends are work – effort needs to go in for the relationship to grow.  There needs to be some give and take, but again, so worth it.

What about coworkers?  Let’s be honest – there are weeks that I definitely spend more time with the people I work with than I do my own family.  Good relationships between employees make for a better workplace, which can in turn make for a better bottom line.

But marriage, that’s a whole different one.  I find it’s so easy to coast, to just settle in.  Day to day, live life and just coexist together.  But that’s not what we’re called to do – that’s not what God designed marriage for.  God values marriage – after all, He created it.  He wants us to do more than just exist in our marriages.

I forget where I heard this, but one of the truest statements I’ve heard about marriage was “The biggest problem with marriage is that it’s just so daily.”  How do you battle that?

Intentionality – investing every day, putting the other person first, giving grace where needed.  Easy to write.  Not so easy to do, in spite of the plethora of “Top 5 Ways to Bless Your Husband” articles on the internet.

How do you do it?  What are ways that you find to be intentional in your marriage every day?

 

 

