“I’m sad to not be a single parent anymore” said no single mom ever.

In 7 days I get to change my name, and become Mrs. Monica Loewen.  Wow.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m excited.  Really excited.  But it’s definitely been the cause for some serious thought and reflection. And honestly, I’m a little sad to see this chapter of my life close.  Even as I’m excited about the future, there is still a sense of finality of this part of life.  It’s like when the kids moved to a different chapter of life – like when the moved from elementary school to junior high.  While I was so excited for what was coming for them, it was a little sad that they had completed that part of life, and it wouldn’t be the same anymore.

We went up to Calgary to have supper with Katie tonight and it struck me that this was going to be one of the last meals with just the 4 of us, our little family.  Got me to thinking about the last 4 years, about how our little family has grown and stretched and learned.

We’ve been able to make our own traditions, our own habits.  We’ve been able to go on vacations  adventures, and have a great time. We’ve been through easy times together, and as the last few months can attest to, we’ve been through really hard times together.

I am thrilled to have Terry join our family and to be a part of all of this.  I’m looking forward to him being able to speak into the kids’ lives, to be an example to them.  But I will forever treasure these last 4 years of just me and the kids, and look forward to many more years together.

 

This empty frame?  That will be filled 7 days from now, when the 4 of us walk down the aisle to become a family of 5.

