normal:  conforming to the standard or the common type; usual; not abnormal; regular; natural. (dictionary.com)

Normal.  What is that, anyhow?  I love having a “normal” day. When things are “normal” in my house.  When everything is just going “normally”.

Today we had a day that was almost normal.  Today Katie had a pass, which means that she got to leave the hospital.  She got to ride in the van.  She got to go to the mall.  She got to go out for supper. All of these things that seem so “normal”.

Except for her they’re not anymore.  Today was the first time Katie was out on her own in 8 weeks.  It was the first time we were able to be out as our little family again, and it felt so great! 

We went to the Military Museums – something that I’ve wanted to do since Katie was a baby.  It was great – we learned a lot and really enjoyed ourselves.  

We spent the afternoon walking around the mall, went out for supper, and just generally enjoyed spending time together.  Our little family of four – it was fantastic.  Made me realize how thankful I am for the four of us.  We’ve been through a lot – some really hard stuff, but have come out the other side, and are stronger for it.

Maybe it won’t be a typical Mother’s Day this year – all my kids won’t be home.  Katie will be spending Mother’s Day by herself in the hospital, and I’ll get to spend Mother’s Day with my mom.  So, I’m taking today as my Mother’s Day.  Today, where I got my little bit of “normal” – me and my kids.  And I’m so thankful for it.




