14 years ago, I became a mom for the first time.  What??  14 years?  I’m not sure where the time is gone, but when I look at the beautiful young lady who is my daughter, obviously a few years have past. I’m the sappy kind of mom who spends my kids’ birthdays remembering the day they were born.

I wish I had a baby picture of her to post here, but unfortunately, they’re all in storage at Mom & Dad’s, and she was born before digital cameras were the norm.  Katie was born one day early, after a blazing fast labor of only 5 hours.  Breech position, born bum first, it was an adventure from the very beginning.  She was 6 lbs. 10 oz.,  with lots of hair.  Within minutes, we saw her little foot all turned in, and realized that she had unfortunately inherited her daddy’s club foot.

Being the first grandchild on both sides, there was lots of company that first day, including both sets of grandparents, her great-grandmother, and lots of aunties and uncles. It was raining the day she was born, so even Grandpa was able to come into town to meet his granddaughter, since he couldn’t harvest anyways.  One of my favorite moments of that day was being able to tell my mom Katie’s name – Katherine Marie.  We named her after my parents, Mike and Catherine.  I’m named after my maternal grandparents, and especially now that they’re gone, it means a lot to me, and I wanted the same for my daughter.

Fast forward 14 years, and I no longer have a baby, but instead, a young woman.  A young woman who still struggles with that club foot, and is learning to compensate.  A young woman who loves to be with her friends, and when she isn’t, is texting or chatting with someone.  Whose favorite place in the entire world is SABC, and can’t wait until she’s old enough to be a counselor and spend all summer.  Who loves listening to music, and randomly breaking out in dance in the kitchen.  Who loves to spend time with her family, especially her aunties and little cousins.

I’m so thankful for all the people who have played a part in her life already.  For my parents, who take godly grandparenting so very seriously.  To my brothers and sisters, who have been the most amazing aunts and uncles and kid could ever have.  For all of her teachers at school, for her leaders at church, for family friends who have helped raise her along the way – thank you.  God gives us community for a reason, and it wonderful to be able to raise children within the Christian community.

Thank you, God, for my daughter.  I pray she will continue to grown in grace, and to walk with the Lord for many years to come.

I love you, Katie-girl.

    

