For the past three weeks, I’ve been a mom with no kids.  Not completely, but for the most part, on my own.  The first two weeks the kids spent with their dad.  The boys were able to attend a computer camp, which was great for them.  The second week there, Katie went to camp with her BFF and had an amazing week.  This past Sunday I drove out to SABC and dropped all three of them off – Katie to go to work on the wash crew, and the boys at the Fort to enjoy their week of camp.  I picked them all up last night, and now, for the first time in a long time, they’re all here.  It’s almost 11:00, the boys are watching tv and playing Lego in their pajamas, Katie’s still asleep, and I’m a happy mom.

Don’t get me wrong.  I did not sit around here moping for the last 3 weeks. I love my children dearly, but when given that kind of time to myself, I took it for the gift that it was.  People have asked many times, so what are you doing with yourself?  
I did all sorts of stuff.  A lot of scrapbooking, which was my main plan.  I’m now only a year behind, instead of a year and a half.  🙂  I read my book, out in the sun.  I worked on some school stuff (reality says, school is coming), organizing some chapel teams, figuring out bulletin boards, good stuff like that. I looked into some possibilities for the future – maybe university????  We’ll see.  This week I was able to spend some time with good friends.  You know it’s a good week when you went out for lunch twice and supper three times, with different people!  
Made me realize the gift of having women in my life.  I was able to have a couple of one-on-one lunches with some very dear women in my life, and it was wonderful.  Tuesday and Thursday evening I was able to celebrate the birthdays of dear friends, surrounded by many others.  Wednesday night other friends opened their home to me, which is so appreciated.  Let’s be honest here:  it’s a little awkward, inviting the single person over.  So, J & J – thanks so much!!  And then, just for a little extra fun, I got a call from a former student saying “Come meet us – we have an empty chair with your name on it!”  
All in all, a good few weeks. Now, I’m going to enjoy the quietness of today.  I told the kids, we have no plans, so we’ll see what that turns into.  The pool, maybe.  Movie night?  We’ll see.  For now, just enjoying being home.  
