So, I was thinking about what I was going to write about tonight, and thought, hey, I’ve got something good – I was on the tv this week!  Check it out – my clip is at the end, at about 7:50:

The 50th anniversary of the school is next weekend, and we had Mark Campbell come to school to do a promo.  The unfortunate part was it kind of fell of my radar, and I realized about 5 minutes beforehand that he was coming…plus, the other guy that was supposed to do the interview with me wasn’t there, so it seriously brought a whole new meaning to “winging it”.

So that was going to be my post for today.  Short, sweet, and to the point – plus, a little exciting!

But, then I got to thinking about this morning’s sermon, and got me reflecting on a few things.  We’re in the beginning of a series called “Vital Signs”, based out of 1 John, looking at the Vital Signs of a Christian.  This morning’s message was about sin – how we all have a sin problem.  You can take a listen to it here.

Ian began his message talking about what a difficult topic we would be discussing. He spoke about how people struggle not only with sin, but with the idea of forgiveness, and understanding how God could possibly forgive them, and did He really forgive all their sins?

Got me to thinking, that I’ve never honestly struggled with any of that.  Now, don’t get me wrong, this is not a “Wow, look at me, how righteous I am”.  No, it’s made me realize (and it’s something I’ve been realizing more as I get older) what an amazing gift I’ve been given in growing up in a Christian home.  Growing up in the Reformed church, where we were brought up on solid doctrine and theology. It has given me a confidence in these things that I’m realizing not everyone has.

There’s been times where I wished I had an amazing conversion story, that I was circling around the pits of hell and was dramatically saved, but a very wise friend of mine told me that wasn’t the way to look at it.  Having come to faith as an adult herself, she told me there’s nothing she would’ve loved more than to have grown up in the church, and to cherish the gift that it is.

So that’s where I’m at.  Loving the church where I’m at, and so thankful for the strong, solid upbringing I’ve had.  So thankful to God that He’s brought me this far, and has prepared me for what I have to come yet….

“And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”  Romans 8:28 (NLT)

