My baby is now 8 years old. Wow. Where did 8 years go? I’m sure it was just yesterday that we were rushing into the hospital, not really comprehending what was going on. Finding out that I was 10 cm dilated and this baby was coming, ready or not. Unfortunately, he wasn’t quite ready – only 30 1/2 weeks. Really not understanding the seriousness of the situation. Watching him struggle, not knowing if he was going to make it or not. Celebrating all the milestone and crying over the setbacks. Finally – after 50 days in the NICU, bringing our little miracle home to begin the long road of physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech pathologists….and here we are now.

8 years old and going into grade 3. He’s my cheerleader – the first one to say “you did such a great job, Mommy! It was wonderful.” He’s still my baby – “Let’s see if you can still carry me when I’m 8, Mommy.”

Happy birthday, Nathan Mark – Mommy loves you so much!

